Staff Honored at the Vicksburg School Board Meeting

vix new teachers
Vicksburg’s new teachers. Front row left to right: Justin Lehman, Jennifer Heeres, Breanna Welling, Jill Boudrie. Middle row left to right: Justin McDonald, Lauren Noyes, Sawyer Duncan​. Back row left to right: Cindy Kessler, Kyle Roberts, Cody Caswell. They serve at Indian Lake Elementary: Jill Boudrie (5th); Sawyer Duncan (PE). Sunset Lake Elementary: Erin Clark (Kindergarten); Cindy Kessler (Special Ed); Justin Lehman (Begindergarten); Breanna Welling (School Psychologist). Tobey Elementary: Julie Sorenson (Behavior/Guidance). Middle School: Jennifer Heeres (Science); Lauren Noyes (Math). High School: Cody Caswell (PE & Health); Justin McDonald (Business/Computer); Kyle Roberts (Economics).

By Linda Lane

The December Vicksburg School Board meeting was a happy occasion to celebrate successes for the District and school staff.

Vicksburg High School received the “Elite AP School” designation for the second year in a row from the College Board organization. This honor is awarded to schools which show each year an increasing number of students scoring a “3” or higher on AP tests and a growing percentage of students taking AP tests. It is a high honor for the high school, according to Principal Keevin O’Neill.

Ruth Hook, principal at Indian Lake Elementary School, was honored as the Region IV Principal of the Year by the Michigan Elementary and Middle School Principals association. Steve Goss received a Leadership Institute award from the Michigan School Business Officials (MSBO) association and Rebecca Durant earned a MSBO Business Office Manager Certification.

Leave a Reply