Village, school candidates on Nov. 8 ballot

Residents in Vicksburg and Schoolcraft villages and school districts will choose trustees in the Nov. 8 election.

Candidates for the school board and village council posts filed to run by a late-July deadline.



Incumbent Council Trustees Kathy Mastenbrook and Todd Carlin are seeking re-election to four-year terms. Newcomer Joseph Beck is running for a four-year term to replace John Stodola, who resigned recently. Council President Keith Gunnett is unopposed for a two-year term.


Voters will elect three trustees from among four candidates to four-year terms. Candidates include incumbents Carl Keller and Rick Holmes and challengers Wendy Pheils and Denise Herald.

Boards of Education


Six residents are running for two six-year terms, including incumbents Tina Forsyth and Jennifer Buikema as well as Dennis LaPoint, Meghan Lovins, Brian Somers and Kimberly Willmont.


Trustees Jennifer Gottschalk and Randy Blankenship Jr. are seeking re-election to six-year terms, challenged by Brian Kudary. Christopher Blodgett is running unopposed for a partial term ending in December 2024, created by the resignation of Trustee Rachel Phelps.

Leave a Reply