August 2 primary election race

Michigan voters will go to the polls in the Aug. 2 primary to nominate candidates for partisan offices in congressional, gubernatorial, state legislative and county commissioner races. They’ll also choose judges at several levels in nonpartisan elections.

Running for the Republican nomination to oppose Democratic Gov. Gretchen Whitmer in November for a four-year term are Tudor Dixon of Lansing, Ryan Kelley of Allendale, Ralph Rebandt of Farmington, Kevin Rinke of Bloomield Hills and Garrett Soldano of Mattawan. Whitmer is running unopposed.
Redistricting following the 2020 census has changed legislative district boundaries at all levels.

Congressional races

Schoolcraft, Brady, Prairie Ronde and Wakeshma Townships are in the 5th Congressional district, where three candidates are running for the Republican nomination: Elizabeth Ferszt and Tim Walberg, both of Jackson and Sherry O’Donell of Stevensville. The winner will face Democrat Bart Goldberg of New Buffalo for a two-year term in November.

State Senate

Schoolcraft, Brady and Prairie Ronde Townships are in the 19th district, along with most of Kalamazoo County. Wakeshma and Climax Townships are in District 18. There are no primary contests in the 19th, where Democrat Sean McCann and Republican Tamara Mitchell , both of Kalamazoo will face off in November for a four-year term.

In the 18th, voters will choose between Republicans Thomas Albert of Lowell and Ryan Mancinelli of Alto to face Kai Degraaf of Ada in November.

State Representative

Prairie Ronde, Schoolcraft and Brady Townships are in the 42nd district; Wakeshma is in District 45. In the 42nd, Republicans Gary Mitchell and Matt Hall, both of Kalamazoo, will compete to run against Democrat Justin Mendoza, also of Kalamazoo, in November for a two-year term. In the 45th district, Democrat Ron Hawkins of Battle Creek and Republican Sarah Lightner of Springport are unopposed in their primary races.

County Board of Commissioners

District 8 includes the townships of Prairie Ronde, Brady and Pavilion. Republicans Wendy Mazer and Brian Kovacik, both of Kalamazoo, will face off in the primary. The winner will run against Democrat Stephanie Willoughby of Vicksburg in November for a two-year term. District 6 includes Brady and Wakeshma townships – the Village of Vicksburg is split between Districts 6 and 8. In the 6th District, Republicans John Gisler of Scotts and Christopher Daniels of Galesburg will to face Democrat Anthony Bates of Climax in November.

Nonpartisan judgeship races

District 1, Court of Appeals

Incumbents are unopposed for three seats on the 1st District Court of Appeals: Thomas Cameron and Kristina Robinson Garrett, each seeking a six-year term, and Noah Hood, seeking a term ending in January, 2027

Circuit Court, 9th District

Voters will choose two candidates from a field of seven running for a vacancy on the 9th District Circuit Court. They are Joseph Hohler III, Ken Barnard, Angelique Camfield, Josh Hilgart and Rachel Vinales, all of Kalamazoo, Rebecca D’Angelo of Mattawan and Julie Jensen of Scotts.

Probate Court

Incumbent Judge Scott Pierangeli is unopposed.

8th District Court

Three candidates are running for a six-year term: Becket Jones of Portage and Thomas J. Allen and Lana Maria Escamilla, both of Kalamazoo. District Judge Niamita Sharma is unopposed for a partial term on the court ending in January, 2027, and Judge Alisa Parker-Lagrone is unopposed for a partial term ending in January 2025.

Leave a Reply